sales@landfx.com
+1 805-541-1003

Rename or Delete a Preference Set

Issue

You need to edit the name of a Preference Set you've already saved – or you need to rename or delete a Preference Set.

Do you need to import a Preference Set from another office or firm? If so, please follow our steps to import and rename a Preference Set.

 

Solution

Our system provides a safeguard against the accidental renaming or deletion of Preference Sets. As a result, renaming a Preference Set actually requires two steps:

1. Create a New Preference Set based on the original one.

2. Delete the original Preference Set.

If you simply need to delete a Preference Set, you can skip to Step 2 below.

 

Step 1: Create a New Preference Set

If you simply want to give a new name to a Preference Set but maintain its present settings, you'll first need to create a new Preference Set with the original one (that is, the Preference Set you want to rename) set as active.

 

Open any of our six Preferences screens (example: General Preferences).

 

 

In the Preference Sets menu, select the Preference Set whose name you want to change.

 

 

Then click Manage.

 

 

 

You should now see the name of the selected Preference Set near the top of the Manage Preference Sets dialog box.

 

 

Click New.

 

 

 

Type the new name you want to give the Preference Set (example: My New Preferences).

 

Click OK.

 

 

You'll now have a new Preference Set with the exact same settings as the existing one.

 

 

Now it's time to delete the original Preference Set (the one with the old name).

 

Step 2: Delete the Original Preference Set

 

Back in the Preferences screen, select the original Preference Set (the one whose name you wanted to change) from the menu.

 

 

Click Manage again.

 

 

 

 

 

You should now see the name of the selected Preference Set near the top of the Manage Preference Sets dialog box. Make absolute sure you see the name of the Preference Set whose name you wanted to change.

 

 

Click Delete.

 

 

 

You'll be asked, Are you sure you wish to delete this Preference Set?

 

Click Yes to delete the Preference Set.

 

 

 

The old Preference Set will be deleted. In its place, you'll now have a Preference Set with its exact settings but with the new name you gave it.

 

 

You can now use this Preference Set in your projects.

Last modified on Mar 26, 2019

Contact

  • Land F/X

Our software tailors AutoCAD to the needs of landscape architects, irrigation designers, and other professionals. We automate your most tedious tasks and ensure accuracy, giving you more time to design.

Log in to landfx.com:

Username:

Password: